Depressed.

“So I will restore to you the years that the depression has eaten, The crawling depression, The consuming depression, And the chewing depression, My great army which I sent among you. You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied, And praise the name of the LORD your God, Who has dealt wondrously with you; And My people shall never be put to shame. Then you shall know that I am in the midst of Israel: I am the LORD your God And there is no other. My people shall never be put to shame. (‭Joel‬ ‭2‬:‭25-27‬ NKJV)

This is the truth.

The truth is no longer, “there is no hope.”

The truth is no longer, “my depression is useless. It consumes me. It serves no purpose yet to kill me, and self-destruct.”

The truth is, now, the years of the depression that were wasted through the tiredness, despair, and sorrow, will now be restored with beauty.

It’s better than what we have to show for depression on our own, am I right?

You’re welcome to disagree. Has depression served you any “good”? Any “benefit”???

No, it’s the most hopeless pit.

But Jesus will restore those years we thought were just “a waste”.

And make beauty out of them, and reward us double for our pain.

Now that’s at least something to look forward to instead of having no hope to hold on to.

Leave a comment